Amani

peace.jpg

When I design,

creations are drawn away from captivity, held up from times past,

freeing you from deceptions of a home that will never last.

When I dream,

I envision doors of prosperity opening up to you,

knowing that the benefits of God are definitely your due.

When I pray,

seeds of hope are planted in the air,

shielding you with intercessions from all despair.

When I achieve,

I lay up solid foundations for you to build upon,

you are rewarded with the promises that I have won.

When I dance,

smooth rhythms of jazz flow from my every move,

prophesying intimate moments that it shall take to conceive you.

When I travel,

my borders are enlarged with the knowledge of you in me.

gently nestled inside of my territory.

When I cry,

tears of excitement rush from my eyes,

knowing that in the Lord you will never have to compromise.

When I laugh,

new beginnings flow from my prognostic voice,

perceiving in “a moment’s time” a reason to rejoice.

When I consider my breasts,

pure milk will flow to minister to your cries,

nurturing you to receive strong meat that edifies.

When I obey,

I’ll keep myself from death and strife,

yielding a precious gift, my child, called life.

When I think,

I can’t abort the thought of you.

conceiving your beautiful image, so afresh and anew.

When I breathe,

God grants the thrusts that will quickly release,

the seed from my womb, giving birth to you my everlasting ‘Peace’.

 

Tamuriel L. Dillard

 

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

